Cooperative Extension Specialists

Jun 11, 2013 admin

Agricultural and Resource Economics

NameArea of Expertise
Butler, Leslie J
(530) 752-3681
Dairy production, marketing and policy, agricultural and natural resource policy, biotechnology, technological change, public policy issues
Cook, Roberta L
(530) 752-1531
cook@primal.ucdavis.edu
Fruit and Vegetable Marketing, Food Distribution, International Competition and Trade, Mexican Horticultural Industry, Food safety
Hardesty, Shermain D.
(530) 752-0467
shermain@primal.ucdavis.edu
Cooperative Theory, Management and Finance, and Food Marketing and Policy
Klonsky, Karen M
(530) 752-3563
klonsky@primal.ucdavis.edu
Farm management and Production, Sustainable Agriculture and Organic Agriculture

Animal Science

NameArea of Expertise
Conte, Fred S
(530) 752-7689
fsconte@ucdavis.edu
Research interests: Software simulation for shellfish sanitation, information transfer and commercial sturgeon production.
Meyer, Deanne
(530) 752-9391
dmeyer@ucdavis.edu
Animal waste management.
Mitloehner, Frank M.
(530) 752-3936
FMMitloehner@ucdavis.edu
Air quality research related to livestock production, especially quantification of ammonia, dust, and odor emissions in dairies, beef feedlots, and poultry operations; environmental physiology research, focusing on effects of air emissions on animal health and welfare.
Oltjen, James W
(530) 752-5650
jwoltjen@ucdavis.edu
On-farm animal management systems; on-farm implementation of strategies to reduce the environmental impact of cows.
Robinson, Peter H
(530) 754-7565
phrobinson@ucdavis.edu
On-farm animal management systems; on-farm implementation of strategies to reduce the environmental impact of cows.
Van Eenennaam, Alison
(530) 752-7942
alvaneenennaam@ucdavis.edu
Animal genomics, biotechnology.

Entomology and Nematology

NameArea of Expertise
Flint, Mary Lousie
(530) 752-7692
mlflint@ucdavis.edu
Integrated pest management of landscape, agricultural and garden pests; biological control of arthropod pests; alternatives to pesticides; adoption of alternative practices by practitioners; innovative delivery of pest management information.
Godfrey, Larry D
(530) 752-0473
ldgodfrey@ucdavis.edu
Integrated pest management of insects and mites in field and vegetable crops; plant (physiological and yield) response to insect injury, refinement of economic thresholds, IPM of field and vegetable crops.
Mussen, Eric C
(530) 752-0472
ecmussen@ucdavis.edu
Managing honey bees and wild bees for maximum field production, while minimizing pesticide damage to pollinator populations.
Westerdahl, Becky
(530) 752-1405
bbwesterdahl@ucdavis.edu
Applied nematology, integrated pest management; nematology extension
Zalom, Frank G
(530) 752-0275
fgzalom@ucdavis.edu
Integrated Pest Management (IPM), Tree Crops, Small Fruits, and Vegetable Crops Entomology, Water Quality, Invasive Species

Environmental Science and Policy

NameArea of Expertise
Grosholz, Edwin D
(530) 752-9151
tedgrosholz@ucdavis.edu
Population dynamics and community ecology, invasion biology, conservation biology and biodiversity of marine and estuarine systems, applications of ecological theory to coastal management problems.

Food Science and Technology

NameArea of Expertise
Barrett, Diane M.
(530) 752-4800
dmbarrett@ucdavis.edu
Effects of raw material characteristics (cultivar, maturity, organic/conventional production etc.) and processing (aseptic, canning, drying, freezing, high pressure, etc.) on color, texture, flavor and nutritional quality of fruit and vegetable products.
Bruhn, Christine M
(530) 752-2774
cmbruhn@ucdavis.edu
Consumer Issues in food safety and quality and new technolgies such as food irradiation and biotechnology.
Harris, Linda J.
(530) 754-9485
ljharris@ucdavis.edu
Microbial food safety with emphasis on fruits, vegetables and tree nuts, applied microbiology
Rosenberg, Moshe
(530) 752-4682
mrosenberg@ucdavis.edu
Food engineering, food technology, dairy chemistry, dairy technology, dairy products, food microstructure, microencapsulation.
Winter, Carl K
(530) 752- 5448
ckwinter@ucdavis.edu
Food toxicology, risk assessment, risk communication.

Human Ecology

NameArea of Expertise
Campbell, David C
(530) 754-4328
dave.c.campbell@ucdavis.edu
Intersection between public policy and community development processes at the local levelÑfocusing on governance, civic engagement, citizenship, and economic development.
Gupta, Clare
cgupta@ucdavis.edu
Research interests: Translational and interdisciplinary research, alternative food networks and community food systems, food politics and agro-food movements (e.g. local food, food sovereignty,) and community-based resource management.
Ontai, Lenna
(530) 752-6410
Research focuses on understanding early socialization processes between parents and young children. This research program aims to understand factors that affect parents' socialization efforts such as income and cultural background. She is active in translating and disseminating current research findings in the areas of parenting, early social development and child care to programs for families with young children.
Smith, Martin H.
(530) 752-7035
mhsmith@ucdavis.edu
Youth scientific literacy. Curriculum development and educator professional development. Nonformal science education, inquiry-based learning, experiential learning, bio-security education, and environmental education.

Trzesniewski, Kali
(530) 752-2595
ktrz@ucdavis.edu

How personality and social factors influence a person’s development from conception to death. How to raise children to be healthy, productive members of society. The developmental origins, developmental course, and interrelations among self-esteem, achievement, and antisocial behavior.

Land, Air and Water Resources

NameArea of Expertise
Grattan, Stephen R
(530) 752-4618
srgrattan@ucdavis.edu
Salinity effects on plants at the plant and field scale; agricultural drainage water reuse and management; salinity-trace element interactions in plants; evapotranspiration.
Harter, Thomas
(530) 752-6998
thharter@ucdavis.edu
Flow and transport processes in groundwater and in the vadose zone; non-point source pollution of groundwater; groundwater remediation; groundwater resources management; geostatistics; stochastic analysis; numerical modeling.
Jackson, Louise E
(530) 754-9116
lejackson@uckac.edu
Soil microbial carbon and nitrogen cycling; Mycorrhizae; Plant water relations and nutrient uptake; Organic and conventional vegetable production; Reduced tillage systems; Grassland restoration ecology.
O'Geen, Anthony T.
(530) 752-2155
atogeen@ucdavis.edu
Soil-landscape relationships, hydropedology, application of digital soil databases, soil survey; pedologic and hydrologic characterization of deep regolith; management of soil physical properties; macro- and mesofauna in soil.
Pettygrove, G. Stuart
(530) 754-9646
gspettygrove@ucdavis.edu
Soil fertility, nitrate and phosphate pollution of water, dairy manure management, precision agriculture and site-specific farming, land application of wastes and wastewaters.
Sandoval Solis, Samuel
(530) 752-2533
samsandoval@ucdavis.edu
Sustainable water resource systems. Shared-vision water planning. Modeling and decision-support systems. Environmental restoration and conservation. Climate change and water management strategies.
Schwankl, Larry
(559) 646-6500
Drip, sprinkler, and flood irrigation systems with emphasis on irrigation of trees and vines. Irrigation system maintenance and chemigation. Irrigation scheduling using soil moisture monitoring and evapotranspiration techniques.
Snyder, Richard L
(530) 752-4628
rlsnyder@ucdavis.edu
Irrigation scheduling; freeze/frost protection; evapotranspiration modeling
Zaccaria, Daniele
(530) 752-4628
dzaccaria@ucdavis.edu
Irrigation Specialist

Nutrition

NameArea of Expertise
Kaiser, Lucia L.
(530) 754-9063
llkaiser@ucdavis.edu
Examining the impact of acculturation and food security on the child-parent feeding relationship among Latinos, developing tools to evaluate nutrition education, and evaluating lifeskills education on transition from welfare to work.
Townsend, Marilyn S.
(530) 754-9222
mstownsend@ucdavis.edu
Evaluation studies of intervention programs and integrates theories and methodologies from cognitive psychology with dietary behavior change strategies. Nutrition education (research and programs) with an emphasis on children and adolescents. She is involved in theory-driven program development and implementation, nutrition educational methodologies and program evaluation. Her work also involves health behavior change strategies.
Zidenberg-Cherr, Sheri A
(530) 752-3817
sazidenbergcherr@ucdavis.edu
A major focus is the study of the nutritional status of populations considered at risk of nutritional deficiencies and exposure to environmental and physiological stresses. Another aspect involves the development and testing of new approaches to educate the public such as through the education of primary targets for consumer questions, i.e. physicians.

Plant Pathology

NameArea of Expertise
Davis, R. Michael
(530) 752-0303
rmdavis@ucdavis.edu
Diseases of vegetable and field crops, mushroom production.
Golino, Deborah A
(530) 754-8102
dagolino@ucdavis.edu
Fruit crop clean stock programs; Viral diseases of grapevines and fruit trees; Vector plant pathology; Phytosanitary regulations and law.
Gubler, W. Douglas
(530) 752-0304
wdgubler@ucdavis.edu
Research interests include biology, epidemiology and control of foliar pathogens of fruit crops with emphasis on grapevine and strawberry diseases.
Subbarao, Krishnamurthy V
(408) 755-2890
kvsubbarao@ucdavis.edu
Epidemiology and integrated control of fungal diseases of vegetables, cool-season vegetables, verticillium of strawberries, lettuce and other crops, methyl bromide alternatives.

Plant Sciences

NameArea of Expertise
Ajwa, Husein A.
(831) 755-2823
haajwa@ucdavis.edu
Soil and water management, methyl bromide alternatives, cool-season vegetables. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Al-Khatib, Kassim
(530) 752-835-
kalkhatib@ucdavis.edu
Weed ecology and integrated weed management. Pesticide drift.
Cantwell, Marita
(530) 752-7305
micantwell@ucdavis.edu
Postharvest physiology, handling, and storage of vegetables, including specialty and fresh cut vegetables. Horticulture Section
Crisosto, Carlos
(559) 646-6596
Postharvest handling systems to maintain quality and safety of stone fruit and kiwifruit. Horticulture Section
DiTomaso, Joseph M.
(530) 754-8715
jmditomaso@ucdavis.edu
Taxonomy, ecology, physiology, and control of rangeland, forestry and wetland weeds; poisonous plants. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Evans, Richard Y
(530) 752-6617
ryevans@ucdavis.edu
Management of commercial flower and nursery crops; nutrition of ornamental plants; container soil-plant interactions; propagation, production, and field establishment of plants for ecological restoration. Section: Primary - Horticulture; Secondary - Crop and Ecosystem Sciences
Fennimore, Steven A.
(831) 755-2896
safennimore@ucdavis.edu
Weed management in vegetable crops and small fruits as well as weed seed physiology and seed bank ecology. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Ferguson, Louise
(559) 737-3061
Pistachios, olives, figs, citrus, persimmons. Horticulture Section
Hanson, Brad
(530) 752-8115
bhanson@ucdavis.edu
Weed management in perennial crops. Alternatives to methyl bromide. Environmental sustainability of perennial cropping systems. Integrated pest management solutions for weeds.
Hartz, Timothy K
(530) 752-1738
tkhartz@ucdavis.edu
Culture and management of warm season vegetables; soil and plant fertility; crop stand establishment. Horticulture Section
Hill, James E
(530) 752-3458
jehill@ucdavis.edu
Conducts research and education programs on rice based cropping systems with focus on production technologies such as direct seeding; weed control; nutrition; residue management; and the relationship of these factors to environmental quality. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Hutmacher, Robert B
(661) 746-8020
rbhutmacher@ucdavis.edu
Conducts research and extension education programs in cotton production systems and irrigation management and plant water stress. In cotton, research efforts include varietal evaluations, irrigation and nutrient management, use of plant growth regulators, and cultural controls and host plant resistance to deal with specific fungal diseases. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Kaffka, Stephen R
(530) 752 8108
srkaffka@ucdavis.edu
Investigates ways to improve crop production efficiency and environmental quality relative to crop prodution. Works at the commodity and farming systems levels. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Lampinen, Bruce D.
(530) 752-2588
bdlampinen@ucdavis.edu
Coordination of extension teaching and research activities for almonds and walnuts on a statewide basis. Horticulture Section
Lieth J. Heiner
(530) 752-7198
jhlieth@ucdavis.edu
Crop ecology of greenhouse and nursery crops; greenhouse environment control automation; modeling of ornamental crops; automated irrigation. Section: Primary - Horticulture; Secondary - Crop and Ecosystem Sciences
Mitcham, Elizabeth J
(530) 752-7512
ejmitcham@ucdavis.edu
Alternatives to postharvest chemicals for control of insects, decay and physiological disorders; fruit responses to postharvest handling systems. Apple, pear, cherry, blueberry, strawberry, table grapes, walnut, almond, pistachio, tropical fruit. Horticulture Section
Mitchell, Jeffrey P
(559) 646-6565
Conservation farming systems. Conservation tillage production alternatives. Air, soil and water quality in reduced till systems. Cropping diversity, rotations, and intensification in no-till production. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Oki, Lorence R
(530) 754-4135
lroki@ucdavis.edu
Irrigation managment in urban horticulture; water quality effects on plant growth; Evaluation and introduction of California native plants for use in landscape horticulture. Section: Primary - Horticulture; Secondary - Crop and Ecosystem Sciences
Putnam, Daniel H
(530) 752- 8982
dhputnam@ucdavis.edu
Alfalfa and forage crops systems, alternative field crops, crop ecology. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section
Suslow, Trevor V.
(530) 754-8313
tvsuslow@ucdavis.edu
Integrated technologies for posthavest quality; postharvest pathology and biocontrol; food safety; postharvest quality and safety issues; refrigerated transportation. Horticulture Section
Tate, Kenneth W.
(530) 754-8988
kwtate@ucdavis.edu
Rangeland hydrology, water quality, nonpoint source pollution, grazing management. Crop and Ecosystem Sciences Section

Viticulture and Enology

NameArea of Expertise
Fidelibus, Matthew W
(559) 646-6510
Applied and basic research on grapes for raisin, table, and wine.
Oberholster, Anita
(530) 754-4866
aoberholster@ucdavis.edu
Analytical chemistry of wine. The influence of winemaking techniques on phenol composition and quality. Polymeric pigment and tannin formation and composition Abiotic factors on grape tannin and norisoprenoid precursor (carotenoids) and chlorophyll development.
Wolpert, James A
(530) 754-6245
jawolpert@ucdavis.edu
Improvement of cultural practices for winegrapes.

Wildlife, Fish and Conservation Biology

NameArea of Expertise
Thompson, Lisa C
(530) 754-5732
lcthompson@ucdavis.edu
Adaptive management of anadromous and inland fish populations; population dynamics modeling; impacts of dams and other water diversions on aquatic ecosystems; lake fertilization; food webs in rivers, lakes and reservoirs; terrestrial-aquatic linkages in watersheds.

College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Dean's Office

NameArea of Expertise
Joy, Amy B
(530) 752-7959
abjoy@ucdavis.edu
Community nutrition, with an emphasis on improving the nutritional status of high risk audiences. Current areas of research are: (a) development and testing of nutrition education methodologies; (b) identification of dietary intake patterns and nutrition-related practices of high-risk audiences; (c) development of new ways to measure nutritional status; and (d) nutrition education interventions for improving nutritional status in high-risk audiences
Student News

Locally Sourced

Dec 02, 2016 UC Davis students try their hand at harvesting olives from campus research groves

Student News - More Student News…
Research News

UC Davis Receives Unique, $1.5 Million Gift from Aggie Couple

Jul 07, 2016 Michael and Joelle Hurlston have pledged $1.5 million to endow a first-of-its-kind chair position.

Research News - More Research News…
Outreach News

Summer Internships

Jul 28, 2015 CA&ES students and Salinas Valley employers find common ground.

Outreach News - More Outreach News…
Specialist list

View alphabetical list